Two SEAS Faculty Members Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences


Two Yale School of Engineering & Applied Science faculty members have been elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Founded in 1780, the academy “honors excellence and convenes leaders from every field of human endeavor to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and work together to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.”

The School’s newest AAAS members are:

  • Hui Cao, the John C. Malone Professor of Applied Physics, Physics and Electrical Engineering
  • Daniel Spielman, the Sterling Professor of Computer Science, Statistics and Data Science and Mathematics

Two additional faculty members with SEAS affiliations were also elected:

  • Frederick Sigworth, professor of cellular and molecular physiology, biomedical engineering and of molecular biophysics and biochemistry
  • Dirk Bergemann, the Douglass and Marion Campbell Professor of Economics and Computer Science

Other Yale faculty members newly elected to the academy are Ronald R. Breaker (molecular, cellular, and developmental biology and molecular biophysics and biochemistry), Akiko Iwasaki (immunobiology, molecular, cellular and developmental biology, and epidemiology), Nancy J. Brown (Dean of Yale School of Medicine), Arthur L. Horwich (genetics and pediatrics), BJ Casey (psychology), Valerie Hansen (history), Gregory Huber (political science), Marcia K. Johnson (psychology), Daniel Spielman (computer science, statistics and data science, mathematics), Kathryn E. Tanner (systematic theology), and Ebonya L. Washington (economics).