Tau Beta Pi Inducts 20 New Members

Seven seniors and thirteen juniors are the newest members of Yale's chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society. The new members were inducted during a ceremony on Wednesday, November 12, 2014.

Tau Beta Pi is second-oldest honor society in the United States, with active chapters at 249 U.S. colleges and universities. The society was founded when the nation’s oldest honor society, Phi Beta Kappa, sought to restrict its membership to students in the liberal arts.

Of students majoring in engineering, only the top one-eighth of juniors and the top one-fifth of seniors are eligible for Tau Beta Pi membership, with elections at Yale held twice per year. The newest inductees from the 2014 fall ceremony are:

Class of 2015:

Kevin Michael Boehm (Biomedical Engineering)
Sophie Elizabeth Mary Janaskie (Environmental Engineering)
Paul Carmine Napolitano (Mechanical Engineering)
Shivang Kiran Patel (Electrical Engineering)
Abhijit Uday Pujare (Electrical Engineering / Computer Science)
Ilana Lynne Scandariato (Biomedical Engineering)
James Shouqi Ting (Biomedical Engineering)

Class of 2016:

Eric Thompson Anderson (Mechanical Engineering)
Matthew John Chavez (Biomedical Engineering)
Samuel James Faucher (Chemical Engineering)
Ryan Alexander Humble (Mechanical Engineering)
Catherine Anne Coughlan Jameson (Mechanical Engineering)
Seewan Kim (Biomedical Engineering)
Edward Lingxin Kong (Biomedical Engineering)
Jonathan Walter Lam (Electrical Engineering)
Maxwell Hunter Payson (Chemical Engineering)
Adam Basel Pissaris (Biomedical Engineering)
Amy Lynn Rockwood (Mechanical Engineering)
Joel William Sher (Biomedical Engineering)
Rebecca Su (Biomedical Engineering)