Tau Beta Pi Welcomes Its 2019 Inductees


The Yale chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, inducted 23 new members at this month's fall ceremony.

Tau Beta Pi is the second-oldest honor society in the United States, with active chapters at 248 U.S. colleges and universities with a total initiated membership of about 594,000. The society was founded when the nation's oldest honor society, Phi Beta Kappa, sought to restrict its membership to students in the liberal arts.

Of students majoring in engineering, only the top one-eighth of juniors and the top one-fifth of seniors are eligible for Tau Beta Pi membership, with elections at Yale held two times each year. W. Mark Saltzman, Goizueta Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Environmental Engineering & Physiology, serves as the organization’s chief advisor. MingDe Lin, assistant professor adjunct of radiology & biomedical imaging, serves as an advisor. 

The newest inductees from the 2019 fall ceremony are Jonathan Munson Li, John Harrison Klich, Anthony Charles Ratinov, Christopher John Karpovich, Tyler Joseph Whiting, Ahmed Imadh Bahaudeen, Duncan Ru Chieh Lee, Xiuya Yao, Vishal V. Patel, Lincoln Thatcher Berkley, Claire Lamarre, Agasha Kareef Ratam, Derek Amur Kuldinow, Katherine Margale Zehner, Renee Anna Su, Jason Yang, William Clarence Rodgers, Griffin Douglas Gharrity, Yash Samantaray, Jonathan Wu, Chaz Jukichi Okada, Karthik Irakam, and Eduardo Custodio Leal.