Tau Beta Pi Welcomes Its 2017 Inductees


The Yale chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, inducted 19 new members at a Nov. 7 ceremony.

Tau Beta Pi is the second-oldest honor society in the United States, with active chapters at 246 U.S. colleges and universities with a total initiated membership of about 584,000. The society was founded when the nation's oldest honor society, Phi Beta Kappa, sought to restrict its membership to students in the liberal arts.

Of students majoring in engineering, only the top one-eighth of juniors and the top one-fifth of seniors are eligible for Tau Beta Pi membership, with elections at Yale held two times each year. W. Mark Saltzman, Goizueta Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Environmental Engineering & Physiology, serves as the organization’s chief advisor. MingDe Lin, research site manager at Yale-New Haven Hospital, serves as an advisor. 

The newest inductees from the 2017 fall ceremony are Joseph Colin Bedford, Rose Grace Bender, Eric C. Chen, Stefan Luka Colton, Nicholas Alexander Gomez, Winston Huynh, Sienna Rebecca Li, Qian Liang, Julia Mankoff, Kyveli Mavromati, Zeb Walter Mehring, Claudia Marcella Mezey, Yan Antoni Oczkowicz, Miles Petterson, Haley Marie Rogers, Parthib Taisho Samadder, Griffin Emmet Walsh, Simon Thomas Whiteman, and Jenny Ailin Xiao.