Two SEAS Faculty Win 2014 Provost's Teaching Prize

Anjelica Gonzalez, assistant professor of biomedical engineering, and Nick Ouellette, associate professor of mechanical engineering & materials science, have both been selected as 2013-2014 Provost Teaching Prize winners. The prize, a key component of the University’s commitment to developing and recognizing outstanding teaching university-wide, acknowledges the teaching excellence of ten untenured faculty each year and carries an award of $5,000.

Nominations for both professors emphasized their compassion and excitement in the classroom. Gonzalez’s students commented on her “capacity to motivate them through her own passion for and interest in their learning; her ability to facilitate lively, engaged discussion; and her interdisciplinary approach to topics that are relevant to students, even as she provides a rock solid overview of the content.” Likewise, Ouellette received praise for his thorough “understanding of complex subject matter and [his] willingness to share this knowledge. He shows great dedication to the class and always makes students feel that he cares about how they perform.”

The prize announcement follows closely on two other faculty teaching awards. Assistant professor of biomedical engineering & molecular, cellular & developmental biology Kathryn Miller-Jensen won the SEAS 2014 Ackerman Award for Teaching and Mentoring, and associate professor of mechanical engineering & materials science, physics, & cell biology Eric Dufresne received the Yale Graduate School's 2014 Graduate Mentor Award.

Kyle Vanderlick, Dean of the School of Engineering & Applied Science, applauded the win, saying that “Together with Eric and Kathryn, Nick and Anjelica are helping to make SEAS the home of Yale’s best teachers.”